Thoughts on Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid

Usually, these “Thoughts” posts are on video games I recently played. But I’m going to change it up a bit by talking about an anime I have wanted to talk about for some time- Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid. Yes, it’s a weird title, and yes, it’s a pretty weird show at times.

But why do I love it so much? Well, let’s find out.

Strangely enough, I first found out about this series via a meme, of all things. It wasn’t anything special. It was another “Anime was a Mistake” meme that was posted alongside the Promotional Video for the anime. The premise certainly was odd- A dragon with the ability to turn into a damn humanoid maid.

Time passed and the series aired. It was a while until I heard the name of it again, this time in a small video I saw on a twitter account. It was a short clip of the show- And let’s just say, it was adorable. I then saw that the anime was getting a surprising amount of praise. This was when I drew interest with the show, and I decided to watch it through.

That was not a mistake at all!

Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid is about Kobayashi, a computer programmer who often gets drunk with her friend Takiya in the evenings after work. One day, she wakes up to find a giant, western-type dragon by her apartment door. Which then turns into a humanoid-maid.

The dragon-maid introduces herself as Tohru, who apparently loves Kobayashi. Oh yeah, did I mention that this was made by Kyoani? The guys behind other shows with yuri- Wait, aw, dammit, whaddya mean they’re “Just Friends”! Thankfully, it isn’t really done here, though the undertones are still there.

Tohru offers to Kobayashi to serve as her maid. But Kobayashi turns her down, as she can’t seem to understand the actual definition of a proper maid. Just when Tohru was going to leave, Kobayashi sees that, oh crap, she’s gonna be late for work. Wait a sec, she has a freaking dragon maid.

Kobayashi rushes to Tohru and asks her if she could fly her to work. Tohru joyfully accepts, and that is the start of a humorous and sweet show.


Despite sounding like an Ecchi show (a genre that’s infamous for fanservice and is criticized all over the anime community for focusing too much on sexual comedy or whatever rather than actual character interaction and plot), Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid is a slice-of-life, like Azumanga Daioh. While the show still has some fanservice elements (especially with some of the ladies’… Endowments. Oh, and Lucoa.), it is certainly not as bad as other anime.

In my viewing experience, anyway. Some elements may bother some more than others. …However, I’m not here to complain! I’m here to praise the show! …Y’know, cause that’s what these “Thoughts” posts are for the most part. Gotta have some positivity on the internet, after all!

The animation in this show is amazing. The animation studio, Kyoto Animation, has produced some wonderfully-animated shows in the past, and this anime is no exception. The characters are colorful, expressive, and fluid, with special mentions to how they animated the dragons. It must’ve been very difficult, as animating characters that are larger than a building requires a lot of memorization.

Oh, and there are some sequences that are made even better by the animation. Not going to tell you them, though, because I’m a nice person, am I right? Haha! Haha… Haha.

The thing I love the most with this show are the characters and their interactions. As this is a slice-of-life show, characters are key to enjoyment. And Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid is no exception.

Kobayashi is the main protagonist (her name’s in the title, for goodness sake!), and my personal favorite character in the show. She’s a normal person- For the most part. She works at a company and frequently gets drunk (leading to a lot of hilarity). However, what makes her endearing to me is that she’s the character that I can most relate to. I’m pretty sure that was the creator’s intention, but some of her lines can hit home for me.

Also, she has some of the funniest moments in the show. ESPECIALLY in the first episode where she attempts to teach Tohru proper maid etiquette. That’s hilarious, considering how inaccurate modern depictions of maids are compared to their real-life counterparts.

Speaking of Tohru, she’s another awesome character. She’s energetic and loving toward Kobayashi. Oh, “Loving”? By the way, Tohru means it in both ways. The “Sexually” part is played for laughs in the show, but there are some pretty clear ship-tease moments. …Oh, I completely forgot that this show has some yuri in it. Not that I mind, though.

A character who starts appearing in the second episode is Kanna Kamui. She’s a friend of Tohru and she’s freaking adorable. She’s a bit like another character from another anime I haven’t watched yet, in the way that she’s a small, cute, but snarky little girl/dragon. Though Kanna is technically over 100 years old. …What’s with Japan and 100+ years old dragon girls?! DAMMIT, I BLAME FIRE EMBLEM! That was doing it WAAAAAY before Awakening!

Kanna is probably the cutest character on the entire show. Heck, she’s the national cinnamon roll of the show. ‘Cause she’s just that damn adorable. Her snarky reactions to things just add to cuteness. I can’t say much about her because she’s too damn adorable.

Other characters include Takiya, Kobayashi’s close friend (and closet Otaku), whose interactions with a certain someone else are amazing. Shouta, who’s the local “Shotacon” character of the show, and is the butt of the jokes regarding Lucoa (also called “Quetzalcoatl”, easily the most infamous of the cast for her…. Uh…. Looks. And her smothering attitude towards Shouta.

Then there’s Elma, who I can’t really say much about because she comes in later in the show and often has gags regarding her and food. Kanna has a friend named Riko Saikawa, who starts out as her rival and then becomes Kanna’s love interest. Her running gag of gushing over Kanna’s adorableness may be a bit overused in my eyes, but it’s fun.

And finally, there’s my personal favorite of the cast besides Kobayashi, Fafnir. He’s the “Certain someone else” I was talking about in regards to Takiya earlier. He’s the comically serious character, and starts out hating humans. I don’t want to talk about his interactions with Takiya right now, since I think they’re some of the most heartwarming in the show.


The comedy in Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid is what I’d call the “Warm” kind. It isn’t always laugh-out-loud, but it cracks a smile on someone’s face. Some scenes are exceptions though, because this show can get pretty hilarious at times. Special mention to Episode 10’s Christmas Play scene, just because of how absurd the situation is.

The story isn’t the main focus in this show, as it’s a slice-of-life. But this isn’t bad. It’s the focus on character interaction that makes this show so great. Yes, I may be repeating myself on this, but seriously.

I would recommend this show to any fans of the slice-of-life genre, and people just wanting something fun to watch one afternoon.

This show’s English dub by Funimation is… Decent. Not the best they’ve ever done (Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood is he best dub they’ve done in my eyes), but not the worst. I would still recommend watching the Japanese version, though, as I feel there are some moments that are better there. …By that, I just mean Kanna’s delivery on “Ame ame ame”.

Watch either version, I don’t really care.

So, yes! Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid is a good anime with memorable characters, awesome animation, and endless amounts of heartwarming and funny moments. I’d recommend checking it out if it appeals to you!


Wait a sec, self, I should talk about Miitopia?! …But I just finished this post! Yes, I love the game, but- Okay, I will, soon. Whenever soon comes, that is. (Dun dun dun…!)

One thought on “Thoughts on Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid

  1. I usually only watch UK anime releases, but I am glad that I made the effort to watch this series. Very funny and sweet. You are playing Miitopia too? Cool. I thought I had beaten the last boss, about an hour ago, but more story has just been opened up. For a casual RPG it is pretty long.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

