So, Pokemon UltraSun and UltraMoon were announced…

Recently, the sequel/remake/alternate universe/version 3 to Pokemon Sun and Moon was revealed! Pokemon UltraSun and UltraMoon. Despite the titles being a little silly, I’m quite excited, as I loved the original Sun and Moon. But- There’s something bothering me right now. And it’s the usual thing that bothers me whenever a game is announced and is bashed on for a reason I find either unjustified or silly.

The backlash. Now, backlash is something that happens whenever something is announced. When Pokemon Black and White were first announced, they were bashed frequently. But the source of the backlash is a bit more dumb this time, in my eyes.

Apparently, people were expecting the rumored Pokemon Stars– The third version of Pokemon Sun and Moon. However, key words “Rumored”. The only source for that existing was a rumor that came out a few months prior. Now, there were loads of things floating around regarding this rumored game- That it was going to be on the Switch, since that’s a Home Console/Handheld hybrid. It’s clear, however, that Pokemon will always be a handheld franchise, as the only games in the series that are on home consoles are spin-offs (not counting Virtual Console re-releases).

Now, here’s something I want to bring up. The thing they’re doing with Pokemon Sun and Moon is similar to what they did with Pokemon Black and White. Every game in the Pokemon series always has a third mascot legendary. This trend has seemed to die off with Zygarde’s adaptation expansion only happening in the anime’s XY&Z season, and the arrival of Pokemon Black and White 2.

In Pokemon Black and White 2, also known as gen 5, there were technically 4 mascot legendaries- Reshiram, Zekrom, White Kyurem and Black Kyurem, in which the latter was a fusion of Reshiram/Zekrom with Kyurem, the beta version of “Third legendary mascots that never really got a game cover”, next to Zygarde and more recently, Necrozma.

Speaking of similarities to Black and White 2, there’s the Solgaleo/Lunala fusions with Necrozma, which is similar with what they did with Kyurem. To be frank, they look a bit better designed compared to White and Black Kyurem. Not the best, but certainly not the worst.

I could compare all day- And that’s not a bad thing to me! Black and White 2 is actually a fan favorite, as they expanded on Unova’s precious L O R E and provided a fun gameplay experience. It had a pretty solid story too, and has another fan favorite character in the series who cameo’d in Sun and Moon, Colress.

Though the difference between the two is the fact that Black and White 2 are direct sequels to Black and White, while UltraSun and UltraMoon go for a more “Alternate Scenario”-type thing. I don’t know what this entails, but I assume that means Lusamine has been replaced with Ragyo Kiryuin. Kidding, kidding!

So, I don’t get why fans are freaking out over a idea that has been done prior to this announcement. All that really supported evidence of Pokemon Stars was a bunch of rumors and speculation. I think the lesson here is simple: With rumors, always have some doubt, and never trust them 100%. Keep an analytical mind with rumors, especially when the news seems too good to be true.

Also, is Nebby finally going to get in the bag this game if so then grab me a bag- (SHOT! NO MORE STUPID MEMES!)

2 thoughts on “So, Pokemon UltraSun and UltraMoon were announced…

  1. I’m not the biggest fan of Black 2/White 2. I had fun with the games, yes, but I wasn’t as excited about them as I was about the “third” version of games. I think the biggest deal for me with that and with Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon is how close their releases are to each other. I invest a lot of time into each mainline Pokemon game, trying to perfect it. When the releases are spaced out, I get to do it all over again and even feel a pint of nostalgia sometimes. But when they’re close together, it almost feels like I shouldn’t have bought the original versions (though let’s face it, I was going to anyway). We didn’t necessarily need the hypothetical Stars announced, but I would have appreciated something fresh or at least spaced out releases that prevent the series from becoming yearly. Great article addressing the big Pokemon news!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do see why people would have love to see Pokémon Stars though. Don’t get me wrong, I loved B/W 2, but Ultra seems to be coming too soon on the heels of the original. What I’m saying is, will it have enough new elements?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

