Misadventures in “Breath of the Wild”

Warning: Small spoilers for the main story of The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild!

Since The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild came out, I’ve been playing it for quite a while. Normally, I don’t really like Open-World games, since I couldn’t really get into them. But Breath of the Wild pulled me in, like it did with many other gamers. While some reviewers have reviewed the game, I prefer to share some of my little misadventures throughout this game.

Let’s start with the beginning of the game. After the mysterious voice that is probably-Zelda woke up our hero, Link, I took notice that if he opens chests with his bare feet, he’ll grab it in pain. Hits home a bit, huh? Stubbing a toe isn’t a fun experience, at all.

Don’t forget about the greatest item in Zelda history- The Sheikah Slate! Where you can get bombs out of nowhere, stop time (on one item), summon ice… Which is nice, I guess, and have a magnet to throw stuff around. Oh, and then there’s the photo one you get later in the game. Taking pictures is fun when you’re in grave danger of dying to a lighting strike, a guardian, or that YIGA TRIBE MEMBER THAT CAME OUT OF NOWHERE AND WILL NOT STOP TRYING TO KILL ME- Uh, got a little carried away there.

Paragliding is another highlight. I’ve always liked to get to a high area, like a tower for example, and jump off to sail through the wind. To quote a certain angel… “Again today I will go soaring through the skies!”. It just feels so awesome to find another area in a region by paragliding. Heck, I actually discovered Kakariko village by doing that!

Throughout my adventures and endeavors, I have encountered many enemy camps. Personally, I don’t like taking them head-on, since enemies are a lot more dangerous in this game compared to other Zelda games. Trust me, one enemy can kill you in one hit at the beginning when you only have three hearts. You know what I like to do?

Sneakily blow them up. The enemies never see what’s coming! It works (nearly) every time! That, or I snipe them from afar. But I prefer blowing stuff up! It’s more entertaining that way!

Pretty odd for me to avoid face-to-face combat in a video game all of a sudden. This game is actually one of the more difficult Zelda games, due to many factors:

  • You have to cook food to recover health, instead of chopping down every last strand of grass in Hyrule.
  • Selling materials to get money. (Well, that’s what I do, anyway)
  • Fall damage isn’t limited to one heart.
  • Anything can kill you.
  • Yes, even horses.
  • To get stamina and health upgrades, you have to explore the shrines (mini-dungeons) scattered throughout the world map.
  • Did I ever forget that weapons, much like the Fire Emblem series, can break?
  • Even shields are not safe.

There are loads of ways to die in this game. Some are more entertaining than others. There was this one time I died to an Octorock, unaware of where it was. Yes, I died to an enemy almost every fan doesn’t die to. Admittedly, Octorocks are a little frustrating in this game.

What I love about this game is the amount of exploring to do. Nintendo has crafted a game in a genre I normally don’t like, and made it just beautiful. I normally don’t gush about graphics, but the cel-shaded Ghibli-esque style makes this world look colorful and beautiful, something I wish more open-world games would do.

Those are my misadventures in Breath of the Wild. If you’d like to, you can share some of yours in the comments. Sorry I haven’t been posting as often lately, I’ve been a little out of it. No worries, I promise I’ll post more often! See you then.

4 thoughts on “Misadventures in “Breath of the Wild”

  1. I’m guessing Zelda has kept you rather busy? It’s been so long since your last blog post!
    So, not just a beautiful Zelda game but a difficult one too? I’d love the exploring part, but difficulty in fighting isn’t really up my ally. Nice to see your thoughts on the game!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t blame the difficulty getting on your nerves a little. It gets easier as you go along and get more upgrades. The exploration in this game is fantastic, though. It’s very satisfying to find a shrine, fairy fountain, etc. Though finding something like a Guardian, Hinox, or Steppe Talus is much less fun. Thankfully, they’re fairly uncommon.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So happy to see another post from you! And what an excellent post to make! I definitely love the exploration elements in this game, as well as all the little things, like Link stubbing your toe as you said. It’s amazing how Nintendo can put its own charm into such a large open-world game. There’s so many secrets and so many creative ways to go about them, so I’m glad Nintendo took advantage of creating something truly wonderful for their latest Zelda game. Hope you enjoy the rest of the game!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

