Mixed Feelings on Pikmin 3DS.

Alright, so there are many people expressing their opinions on this Pikmin spinoff that recently got announced back at the beginning of September. There are some joyous at the idea of a new game in the Pikmin series being the first spin-off, and some who despise the fact it is-

A. Developed by the same guys who made Yoshi’s New Island, and we all know how many people loved (Sarcasm) that game.

B. A sidescrolling 2D platformer rather than a 3D Simulation Dungeon Crawler Space Don’t Starve Don’t Die Race Against the Clock Real-Time Strategy Adventure.

and C. It’s different.

Admittedly, I’m not very interested in this game. It just looks like another basic 2D platformer with some Kirby Mass Attack elements in it. But what I want to address are my personal opinions regarding this game in detail, so here we go:

I honestly have mixed feelings. I’m not sure if it’ll be good or bad. I sincerely hope that the guys behind Yoshi’s New Island have learned their lesson in How Not to make a Generic 2D Platformer, and yet, who knows? Maybe they didn’t learn their lesson after all? Maybe they did? Maybe they don’t give two craps about reviews and just bang their heads into a computer all day? Maybe they’re actually just normal game developers who make mediocre games? Maybe they’re an army of ROBs made by Nintendo?

But one thing that irks me is people judging the game by a one-minute or so trailer. As seen in the past, this bothers me to no end, big example being Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE. Judging a game by it’s cover is just like judging a good book by it’s cover. It’s unreasonable and narrow-minded. But in this case, it’s just like just flipping to the end of the book and saying “It sucks!” without even reading the middle or beginning, since you just skipped to the end with no context of what happened.

We’ve just been shown about one minute of footage. ONE MINUTE. We don’t know anything of the story, the controls, it’s challenge, and even the Bulborb boss battle! Hell, it’s possible that Pikmin 3DS is just a placeholder name! It’s just Pikmin 3DS right now! Maybe it’ll stay Pikmin 3DS, like how Hyrule Warriors stayed Hyrule Warriors. WHO KNOWS?!

And that’s exactly what I think. We don’t have enough information to make a general assumption yet. No one can’t just say “The game’s bad. The end”. I’d say judge a game when it comes out. Play a short demo, read or watch a review from one of your favorite reviewers, and  play the game in your free time. Then decide if it’s good, bad, or mediocre.

And if it turns out to be a bad game, thank goodness it’s not actually Pikmin 4. I guess that one’s still under the raps. Don’t get too impatient, since as we all know, impatience will only make one seem immature.

3 thoughts on “Mixed Feelings on Pikmin 3DS.

  1. I’m actually pretty excited for the game. It’s an interesting spin on a game that I love. Even if Yoshi’s New Island was really bad, it doesn’t mean that every game made by that team will be terrible. I’m glad you have an open mind to the idea. Great post!

    I’m actually the Community Content Manager for NowLoading.co, and I would be thrilled if you considered posting on our platform (while still posting on your personal channels). If you don’t know much about us- we’re the same team behind Movie Pilot, and push to give awesome writers (like yourself) some exposure. Feel free to email me! My email and more info is on my about page. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I, likewise, have mixed feelings about the game. Overall, I’m looking forward to it because I did like Kirby Mass Attack, though felt like that game should have been a Pikmin title. I also just love the idea of returning to the Pikmin universe. However, based on the developer’s reputation and history, I’m not ecstatic. Also, the art is kind of a turnoff, sort of like Yoshi’s New Island’s was. I do think it deserves a chance though, just like Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE and especially Metroid Prime: Federation Force before it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m definately interesten in the game, but at the same time I sure hope this isn’t another platform-ified game, if you know what I mean. Nintendo has so many sidescrolling platforms already, I honestly don’t know why they intend to push another IP into the same mold.
    Still, keeping my fingers crossed!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

